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           PRIVACY ACT NOTICE 
 
You are required to provide your Social Security number to the Child Support Program. Your 
Social Security number will be used by the Child Support Program as one of the ways to find your 
records to set up paternity, and to set up, change and carry out support obligations. You may be 
asked for your case number or your Social Security number when you call the Program so that we 
are able to correctly identify your case. We may also ask for your Social Security number on forms 
you need to complete in order for the Program to help you. Providing your Social Security number 
is also required by federal law [42 USC §405(c)(2)(C) and 42 USC §666(a)(13)]. 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
If you need this form in large print, Braille, audio tape, CD, or by voice presentation, please call 
your local child support office. If you know someone who needs this in one of these formats, 
please let him or her know it is available. 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
Discrimination based on age, race, color, sex, religion, national origin or disability will not occur 
against anyone in any part of the Child Support Program. You can file a complaint if you think 
discrimination occurred against you in the Child Support Program. 
 
You can find updated information on the internet by visiting any of the sites listed below: 
 
oregonchildsupport.gov 
 

 
oregon.gov/DHS/children (Click on “child support”) 
 

 
Any Oregon county District Attorney office website: oregonchildsupport.gov/offices 
 

 
 
 

PUBLISHED BY 
The Department of Justice 
Division of Child Support 

Oregon Child Support Program 
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This booklet explains Oregon’s Child Support Program and its services, 
who provides them, who is entitled to services, and how you can access 
the services. For more information, use the contact information on page 
12 of this booklet to contact the Child Support Program. 
 
What is the Child Support Program? 
Federal law requires each state to have a child support program. In 
Oregon, the Department of Justice Division of Child Support oversees the 
program, which also includes many District Attorney offices throughout the 
state. The Child Support Program works to improve the well-being of 
children by providing high quality child support services to families. 
 
How do I get services? 
If your child receives public assistance benefits, including Medicaid such as the 
Oregon Health Plan (OHP), your child support case will be automatically 
referred to the Division of Child Support. This also will happen if your child is in 
the custody of the Department of Human Services (DHS) or the Oregon Youth 
Authority (OYA). 
 
If your child does not receive public assistance benefits, you can apply for 
Child Support Program services. One resource to assist you is the District 
Attorney office in the county where you live. You will be asked to fill out an 
application and charged a one-time, $1 fee for this service. The fee will be 
taken out of the first child support payment collected by the Child Support 
Program.  
 
The Child Support Program will collect a $25 fee from the support collected as 
required by federal law. The fee will be charged each year that the Child 
Support Program has sent the family at least $500 in child support payments 
within a federal fiscal year (October 1 through September 30). The fee will be 
collected only in cases in which the party receiving support, or the child, has 
never received “cash assistance” benefits from any state. “Cash assistance” 
means only TANF (Temporary Assistance to Needy Families) or AFDC (Aid to 
Families with Dependent Children). It does not include food stamps, housing 
subsidies, general assistance, or Social Security income or Veterans’ 
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Administration benefits. If the child support program does not collect at least 
$500 in a federal fiscal year, there is no fee for that year. 
 
Who provides services? 
Generally, Department of Justice Division of Child Support will provide child 
support services, if you: 

● receive public assistance benefits in Oregon, or 
● received public assistance benefits in the past, or 
● have a child in the care of DHS or OYA. 

Public assistance means Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) or 
Medicaid (including Oregon Health Plan services). 
 
The Division of Child Support also provides billing and accounting services on 
all Child Support Program cases. If you are calling within Oregon, there is a 24-
hour toll-free number to help answer questions about payments. You can also 
access your own accounting information on the website. The toll-free number 
and website are listed on the back of this booklet.  
 
If you have not received public assistance benefits, you can access child 
support services from the District Attorney in the county where you live. In a 
few counties, the Division of Child Support provides services for the District 
Attorney. 
 
What if I already have a support order? 
Services such as a review and change (modification) of your order may be 
handled in the county where the order was filed or where either party lives. You 
should check with your enforcing agency (the Division of Child Support or local 
District Attorney) for more information. 
 
Who is entitled to child support services? 
Child support services are available to both parents. Even if you or the 
other parent lives in another state, you can apply for services in Oregon. 
Relatives or other caretakers who have physical custody of a child are 
also entitled to child support services. 
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When should I apply for child support services? 
Every child has the right to have the financial support of both parents. The 
Child Support Program may be able to help if you need to: 

 Establish who is the legal father of a child 
 Find the other parent for purposes of getting support 
 Get a child support order established 
 Get medical child support for a child, which includes health care       

coverage and/or cash medical support  
 Change an existing support order 
 Determine the amount of past-due child support 
 Collect child support payments 

 
What is cash medical support? 
Parents are required to provide health care coverage if it is available and 
reasonable in cost. A parent may be ordered to pay a cash amount towards the 
cost of health care coverage and uninsured medical expenses.   
 
A parent may not be ordered to pay to provide health care coverage or cash 
medical support if the parent’s income is at Oregon minimum wage or below. 
 
What services does the Child Support Program provide? 

Accounting: 

 Sends monthly billing statements to the parent who owes support, 
showing the current amount due and any past-due amounts, until 
payments are received through income withholding or electronic 
payment withdrawal for six months in a row 

 Sends money to the parent or person with physical custody of the child 
through electronic deposits or posting to a child support “ReliaCard” 
(debit card) 

 Keeps the record of payments received and amounts due on each child 
support account 

 Sends annual payments statements to both parents  
 Sends payments received from the person who owes support to the 

family or state agency entitled to the money 
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Receiving child support payments 

There are two different ways to receive child support through the Child 
Support Program: 

 Direct Deposit – Support payments are sent directly to a checking 
or savings account. 

 U.S. Bank ReliaCard®Visa® – A debit-style card that does not 
require you to have a bank account. Support payments are sent to 
an account you access using the ReliaCard. These cards allow you 
to get cash or to buy products in person, online, or by mail. 

 
Receiving a check 
Some exceptions to electronic transfer are allowed. To enroll or to request an 
exception, you may print, fill out, and return the appropriate form from the 
website listed at the end of this booklet, or contact the office handling your 
case. 
 
Locating the Parent 
The Child Support Program has specialized staff to help locate the parent. 
They can even help locate a parent living in another state or country. It is very 
important that you give as much information as you can to the Child Support 
Program. Information from you, such as the parent’s Social Security number 
(which will be used for child support purposes only), birth date or age, last-
known address or location, and employer (current or last-known) can help 
locate the parent. 
 
Establishing Paternity 
Paternity is the process of establishing who the legal father is for a child. 
Sometimes the alleged father admits paternity right away and can sign a legal 
form agreeing to that fact. If either the mother or the alleged father denies or 
isn’t sure he is the father, genetic tests can be ordered. Often the alleged father 
admits paternity when the genetic tests show he is the likely father. 
Occasionally, the case must be resolved in court. The Child Support Program 
can also help a man who wants to be declared the legal father of the child but 
needs help to establish paternity. 
 
Establishing a Support Order 
If there is no judgment for payment of child support or medical child support, 
the Child Support Program will try to establish one. By law, a formula is used to 
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figure out the child support amount. This is commonly referred to as the 
“Oregon Child Support Guidelines.” This amount may include an amount for 
cash medical support. Once the child support amount is determined, both 
parties are notified of this amount. If neither party objects or requests a 
hearing, an order is established. If either party disagrees with the amount and 
tells the Child Support Program in writing, an administrative hearing will be 
held by phone. The child support amount will be determined at the hearing. If a 
party disagrees with the hearing order, he or she may ask for another hearing 
before a judge in circuit court. 
 
Out-of-State Orders 
Even if you live in Oregon and the other parent lives in another state, or within 
the jurisdiction of a federally recognized tribe, the Child Support Program can 
work with the other state or tribe to help establish paternity and support and to 
enforce support. It is important to tell your child support case manager if you 
are a member of a tribe or if you have a support order entered in another state 
or country.  
 
Tribal Cases 
Some Indian tribes have their own child support programs. Other tribes may 
have their own child support laws and processes for establishing and enforcing 
child support when a parent is a tribal member, lives on the reservation, or 
works for the tribe. The Child Support Program works with tribes to establish 
and enforce child support cases. Call the Child Support Program for 
information about tribal child support or go to the website at the end of this 
booklet. 
 
Modifying a Support Order 
The amount of the support order can be changed or “modified” in two different 
ways: 

 35-month review 
 Change of circumstances 
 

 After 35 months, a case manager may look at a child support order to see if 
the amount is what should be paid according to the Oregon Child Support 
Guidelines. This includes whether either parent has health care coverage for 
the child. The Child Support Program can change the order if the amount is not 
what the child support guidelines show or if the medical support needs to be 
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addressed. The change may end up as either an increase or a decrease in the 
support amount. 
 
If the order is less than 35 months old (or has been reviewed less than 35 
months ago) and there has been a substantial change of circumstances, a 
party can ask that the order be reviewed to see if it should be modified. 
Examples include: 

● a change in custody from one parent to the other 
● a significant change in either parent’s income  
● a change in health care coverage cost or availability  

 
Enforcing Support 
The Child Support Program uses many tools to enforce child support and 
medical support: 

● Income Withholding 
This is a routine legal action where money is taken directly from the wages, 
salary, or other income of the parent who owes support. 
o Income withholding is required for all new or modified support orders 

even if the parent paying is not behind in their support payments. 
o The Child Support Program can collect support from unemployment 

compensation, workers’ compensation, and other types of income using 
income withholding. 

o Unless payments are consistently being received through income 
withholding or electronic payment withdrawal, monthly billing statements 
are sent to the parent who owes support, showing the current amount 
due and any past-due amounts. 

 
The Child Support Program can also collect current support or past-due 
support by: 

● Intercepting federal and state tax refunds.  
● Placing a lien on property in Oregon. This means the property cannot 

be sold with a clear title until the child support has been paid or the lien 
is released. 

● Issuing a garnishment against bank accounts or other sources of 
funds. This includes lottery winnings, insurance settlements, and 
inheritances. 

● Suspending driver, occupational, and recreational licenses for failure to 
make and keep a child support payment agreement. This happens if 
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the parent owes at least $2,500 or three months in past-due support 
and other collection methods have failed. 

● Reporting the names of people who do not pay their child support to 
credit reporting agencies. Doing this sometimes causes parents to pay 
the amount owed to avoid damaging their credit record. 

● Filing contempt proceedings against a parent who has the ability to 
pay his or her child support but does not pay. These court actions can 
result in a jail sentence. 

● Issuing a National Medical Support Notice to an employer to enforce 
private health care coverage. 

● Restricting the issuance and renewal of passports for non-payment of 
support. 

 

What child support services are not provided? 

Legal Advice 
The Child Support Program is not your lawyer. The Division of Child Support 
and the District Attorneys represent the State of Oregon. They cannot give you 
legal advice. Any person involved in a case handled by the Division or a District 
Attorney’s office may hire a lawyer at his or her own expense. In contempt of 
court and criminal nonsupport cases, the court will appoint a lawyer to 
represent the person charged if that person cannot afford a lawyer. 
 
Please tell the Child Support Program if you have a lawyer who represents you 
in any child support matter. The Program must talk with your lawyer, unless 
your lawyer says the Program can talk with you directly. 
 
Spousal Support 
Spousal support services can be provided if: 

 The spousal support is part of an original child support order.  
 The spousal support order includes a wage withholding provision. 

 
The Child Support Program can provide income withholding and accounting 
services if you receive public assistance benefits. The Program will not take 
other enforcement actions to collect spousal support. For more information, 
see the spousal support application on the website listed at the end of this 
booklet, or contact your local Division of Child Support or District Attorney 
office. 
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Parenting Time and Legal Custody 
The Child Support Program cannot advise you about parenting time or custody 
matters. If you have a written parenting time agreement or order, it will be 
considered in a support calculation. You can discuss these matters with a 
lawyer or take action in court. Parenting time is important to children. Please 
see the video on parenting time plans at oregonchildsupport.gov for more 
information. 
 
What is expected of me? 
If you receive public assistance benefits, you are required to cooperate with the 
Child Support Program unless you believe that establishing and enforcing child 
support could cause harm to you or your child. There are  several ways the 
Child Support Program can help keep you and your child safe and still provide 
child support services. Ask your caseworker for a “client safety packet” or visit 
the website for these materials.  
 
Your caseworker will need the following information from you: 

 The full name and address (or last known location) of the other parent. 
Good information about the other parent is needed to get you your child 
support. 

 The Social Security number of the other parent. This can be found on pay 
stubs, tax forms, health insurance forms, bank records or other financial 
records, and driver licenses issued by some states. (Note: this will be 
used for Child Support Program purposes only.) 

 The parent’s birthdate (or approximate age). 
 Where the parent works (or last worked). 
 The county and state, or tribal court where your divorce occurred (if there 

was one) and a copy of the judgment, or the county, state or tribe where 
there is any other support order or judgment. 

 Each child’s date of birth and Social Security number. 
 Information on any assets such as bank accounts, vehicles, or land the 

parent who owes support might have. 
 Information on health care coverage for the child(ren) that is available 

through either parent’s employer, or being provided by either parent’s 
spouse or domestic partner, or by the state, or by a tribe. 
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What if I have a grievance about my child support case? 
Parties in child support cases are entitled to fair, professional, courteous and 
accurate service from the Child Support Program. 
 
If you have a complaint that you have not received this level of service from an 
Oregon child support office, please contact a supervisor in that office. If talking 
to a supervisor does not resolve the issue, you may file a grievance. You may 
get a form to file a grievance by calling: 

From the Salem area (503) 378-5567 
Outside the Salem area (800) 850-0228  (Toll-free in Oregon) 
From outside Oregon (503) 378-5567 
TTY Number   (800) 735-2900  (Toll-free in Oregon) 

 
This form will contain the instructions for filing the grievance, including the 
address where it should be sent. Your grievance will be screened and, if 
accepted, responded to within 90 days. 
 
You can find more information regarding the Oregon Child Support Program on 
our website at oregoncildsupport.gov. 
 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) about child support 
when the plan for your child is adoption 
 

Question:  My child is being adopted and I signed release and surrender 
papers. Do I still have to pay child support? 
You owe child support up to the date you sign the release and surrender papers. If 
you owe child support for the months before you signed those papers, you still will 
have to pay the support for those months.  

 
Question: What is the difference between a “release and surrender” and 
“termination”?  
Legal documents called Release and Surrender and Certificate of Irrevocability are 
signed by a parent voluntarily. These documents allow the Department of Human 
Services (DHS) to consent to a child’s adoption. A parent who has signed these 
documents has “relinquished” (released) their rights to their child. 
 
Termination of parental rights is the permanent loss of parental rights by court 
order. A parent’s rights can be terminated after a court trial, when the parent fails to 
appear for the trial or if the parent agrees that the court can terminate his or her 
rights. This is only done when DHS is planning adoption for the child. 
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Question: I have been ordered to pay child support to another party. Do I 
need to pay child support to that person after I relinquish my rights or my 
rights are terminated?  
When your child is placed in foster care, the Department of Human Services 
supports your child. While your child is in foster care, child support you are ordered 
to pay to another party goes to DHS. When your parental rights are terminated or 
you relinquish your rights, from that point on, child support is no longer owed and 
DHS will ask the Division of Child Support to end your support order. However, any 
past-due child support that you owe at that time still needs to be paid. Contact the 
Division of Child Support if you have questions about how much you owe.    
 
Question: I have two children in DHS custody and I relinquished my 
rights to one child, but not the other. Do I have to keep paying support for 
the other child? 
Yes, you do. Most child support orders in Oregon are “class orders.” This means that 
the amount of child support does not automatically change when your rights are 
terminated or you relinquish for one child only. Support for the remaining child(ren) 
may be lowered if the order is modified. Contact the Division of Child Support if you 
have questions or want to start a modification. 
 
Question: I relinquished my rights to my child in 2001. Why is the 
Division of Child Support still billing me? 
In 2002, the Department of Human Services changed its rules so that current child 
support would end when a parent signed relinquishment papers. This change cannot 
be applied to prior years. If you relinquished your rights before 2002, you have to 
pay current child support until your child is legally adopted. Even after your child is 
adopted, you still must pay any past-due support you owe. 
 
The Program will offer you the option of receiving some communications 
by: 

 Text message  
 Email message  
 Recorded phone messages 

 
What information will be updated whenever I contact a child support 
office? 

 Your phone numbers  
 Your email address  
 Your language preference (if not English) 
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WHAT CHILD SUPPORT OFFICE DO I CONTACT? 
 

For the most up-to-date information: 
●  oregonchildsupport.gov  
 

●   Call:   
 From the Salem area  (503) 378-5567 
 Outside the Salem area         (800) 850-0228  (Toll-free in Oregon) 
 From outside Oregon  (503) 378-5567 
 TTY Number           (800) 735-2900  (Toll-free in Oregon) 
 
COUNTY DISTRICT ATTORNEY OFFICES 
The District Attorney offices establish paternity, and establish, modify and 
enforce child support orders for families who have never received public 
assistance. In some counties, the local Department of Justice Division of 
Child Support office handles these functions. 
 

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE - DIVISION OF CHILD SUPPORT 
BRANCH OFFICES 

Division of Child Support offices establish paternity, and establish, modify 
and enforce child support orders for families who are receiving public 
assistance (cash or medical payments) or who have received assistance in 
the past. They also provide child support services if a child is in foster 
care or juvenile care. 
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OREGON CHILD SUPPORT  
PROGRAM 

 

    

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

Child Support Program Director’s Office 
 

  Administration and Policy 
    Program leadership and administration 

    Strategic planning 

    Performance, budget, and statistics 

    Legislation, administrative rules, and policy 

    Contracting 

    Constituent services and communication 

  Division of Child Support 
  (Current & former public assistance cases,  
  foster care and juvenile care cases, some  
  non-public assistance cases) 
 

  Paternity establishment 
  Order establishment 
  Review & modification 
  Enforcement services 
  Locate services 
Central Services (provided for Division of 
Child Support and District Attorneys)                  

   - Financial Services and Receipting 
  -  Special Collections 
   - Child Attending School Team 
  -   Employer Services 
  -  Intergovernment Central Registry 
  -  Information Technology 

    District Attorneys   
    (Non public-assistance cases) 
 

   Paternity establishment 
    Order establishment 
    Review & modification 
    Enforcement services 
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24 Hour Telephone Payment Information 
 
From the Salem area (503) 378-5567 
Outside the Salem area (800) 850-0228 (Toll-free in Oregon) 
 
From outside Oregon (503) 378-5567 
TTY Number (800) 735-2900 (Toll-free in Oregon) 

 
 
 

The Oregon Child Support Program provides case information on the 
Internet.   
 
oregonchildsupport.gov - To view case status and payment history information. 
You may log in to see payment information by using your case number and Social 
Security number. 
 
Other websites of interest: 
 
 www.osbar.org 
 (Oregon State Bar) 
 
 www.lawhelp.org 
 (Legal Aid Services) 
 
 www.courts.oregon.gov/OJD/ 
 (Oregon Judicial Department) 
 

oregonchildsupport.gov/calculator/pages/index.aspx (Oregon Child   
Support Guidelines Calculator and Guidelines Information) 

 


