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Sending payments  
by Electronic Funds 
Transfer (EFT)
If your business is registered in Oregon, you are 
required to submit child support payments in most 
circumstances by EFT. 

How do I send payments by EFT?

•  �Secure employer online payment system 
through the Oregon Employer Services Portal

•  �Payroll software package or a payroll service 
provider that supports sending child support 
payments by EFT

•  �ACH Credit – Contact your financial institution’s 
Banking Relationship Manager or Treasury 
Management Specialist to determine if child 
support payments can be sent on your behalf

The Oregon Employer 
Services Portal
An online, secure and easy to use self-service 
system designed with you in mind. Approved 
users have the ability to:
•  �Update company information
•  �Report new hires, rehires, and terminations
•  �Receive and respond to income withholding orders
•  �Receive and respond to National Medical 

Support Notices
•  �Initiate child support payments
•  �Respond to verification of employment requests

Need help?
Employer Services
Toll-free: (866) 907-2857
Salem: (503) 378-2868
Fax: (503) 986-6266
oregonchildsupport.gov/employers

Mail your new hire CDs or diskettes to: 
Department of Justice
Oregon Child Support Program
Employer Services
4600 25th Ave NE, Suite 180
Salem OR 97301

New hire questions?
emplnewhire.help@doj.state.or.us

Income withholding or medical  
support questions?
ead.staff@doj.state.or.us

Electronic funds transfer (EFT) questions?
efthelp@doj.state.or.us

Oregon Employer Services Portal questions?
oesp@doj.state.or.us
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Reporting new 
or rehired employees
Federal and state laws require you to report your 
new or rehired employees to your state’s child 
support agency. You must submit the information 
within 20 days of the hire date. 

What is a new or rehired employee?
A new hire or rehired employee is an employee who is 
required to fill out a W-4 form, or an employee who 
has returned after being out for more than 60 days.

What do I need to report?
• �Employer name
• �Employer address
• �Employer Federal Identification Number (FEIN)
• �Employer contact name and telephone number
• �Employee name
• �Employee address
• �Employee Social Security number
• �Employee’s first work date

How do I report new or rehired employees?
• �Secure online reporting system through the

Oregon Employer Services Portal
• �Diskette or CD
• �Oregon New Hire Reporting paper form
• �Printed list with information noted above
• �Copy of W-4 form, including employer

information
Please be sure any information you provide is 
clearly legible.

Enrolling children 
in health care coverage
Federal law requires children to be enrolled in 
health care coverage if it is part of a child support 
order when it is available through an employer or 
available through a union.

What is a National Medical Support Notice?
A National Medical Support Notice is a qualified 
medical support order that requires you to enroll 
your employee’s child in employer-sponsored 
health care coverage if appropriate.

What are the withholding limits for child 
support and medical costs?
In Oregon, the most you can withhold for both 
support payments and health care coverage costs 
combined is 50% of the net disposable income 
after mandatory deductions.

When do I need to respond to the National 
Medical Support Notice?
• �20 business days from the issue date of the

notice to respond to Part A, or
• �Send Part B to the Plan Administrator (the

person or entity responsible for enrollment of 
the participants). The Plan Administrator has 40 
business days from the issue date of the notice 
to respond to the issuing child support agency.

What if the health care coverage is offered 
through a union?
Send the Plan Administrator copy (Part B) to 
the union’s third party administrator within 20 
business days of the issue date on the notice.

Withholding for 
child support
Federal and state laws require income withholding for 
child support. You may be held liable for any amount 
not withheld. Other civil penalties may apply.

Wage withholding is as simple as 1-2-3! 
Just give us:
(1)  �the name of the employee
(2)  �either the employee’s Social Security number or 

one of the employee’s child support case numbers
(3)  �the total amount of the employee’s child 

support payment for the pay period
We will do the rest!

What is an Order to Withhold Income?
An order or notice to withhold income is a legal 
notice that requires you to withhold some of your 
employee’s paycheck to pay the employee’s child, 
spousal, or medical support obligation.

When should I send a payment?
Oregon law requires you to send payment within 
7 business days from the date the money is 
withheld from the employee’s pay.

What is the withholding limit in Oregon?
• �50% of the net disposable income (gross pay

minus mandatory deductions required by law). 
This includes both support payments and health 
care coverage costs.

• �In rare instances, you may be asked to withhold
greater than 50% of an employee’s income.

If you are an Oregon employer, you may be 
required to withhold up to 50% from a lump-sum 
payment or benefit, such as:
• �Commissions
• �Severance pay
• �Cash settlements
• �Lump-sum bonus
• �Lump-sum retirement plan disbursements


