
137-055-2160 
Requests for Hearing 
 
(1) A request for hearing must be in writing and signed by the party, the party's 
authorized representative, or the administrator. 
 
(2) A request for hearing may be made on a form provided by the Child Support 
Program (CSP) and must contain the party's residence, mailing or contact address, a 
telephone number where the party can be contacted and the reasons for objection to 
the contested case notice. 
 
(3) A request for hearing must be received by the CSP office which issued the action 
within the time provided by law or notice in order to be considered timely. 
 
(4) A new or amended request for hearing is not required from the requesting party to 
obtain a hearing if the administrator amends the order being appealed, unless the 
administrator notifies the requesting party that an additional request is required. 
 
(5) When a party requests a hearing after the time specified by the administrator, the 
administrator will handle the request pursuant to OAR 137-003-0528, except that the 
administrator may accept the late request only if: 
 
(a) The request is received before or within 60 days after entry of a final order by 
default; 
 
(b) The circuit court has not approved the final order or there is no appeal of the final 
order pending with the circuit court, and  
 
(c) The cause for failure to timely request the hearing was beyond the reasonable 
control of the party, unless other applicable statutes or Oregon Child Support Program 
administrative rules provide a different time frame or standard.  
 
(6) Notwithstanding the provisions of section (5) of this rule, a request for hearing is not 
considered a late hearing request when: 
 
(a) Parentage testing has been conducted pursuant to ORS 109.252 and 416.430 which 
includes the man as the biological father of the child, and a request for hearing has 
been received from a party within 30 days from the date of service of the Notice of 
Intent to Enter Order/Judgment establishing paternity and the notice of parentage 
testing results; or 
 
(b) A party has denied paternity and failed to appear for parentage tests, an order 
establishing paternity has been entered, and a request for hearing has been received 
from a party within 14 days from the date the order establishing paternity was mailed to 
the parties. 
 



(7) For the purpose of computing any period of time under this rule, except as otherwise 
provided, any response period begins to run on the following date: 
 
(a) If service is by certified mail, on the date the party signs a receipt for the mailing; 
 
(b) If service is by regular mail: 
 
(A) Three days after the mailing date if mailed to an address in Oregon;  
 
(B) Seven days after the mailing date if mailed to an address outside Oregon; or 
 
(c) The date evidence shows the party received the mailing. 
 
(8) Except as provided in subsection (9)(b) the dates in section (7) are computed based 
on calendar days, not business days. 
 
(9)(a) In computing any period of time under this rule, do not count the date of mailing 
as the first day; and  
 
(b) If the last day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, do not count that day as 
a calendar day. 
 
(10) The provisions of sections (7) through (9) do not apply to service on a party by 
regular mail to complete substitute service.  For substitute service, the service date is 
the date the document is mailed.  
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