
137-055-4450 
Expiration and Release of Judgment Liens 

(1) When a judgment of the court or administrative order containing a money or support 
award is filed with the court administrator, it creates a judgment lien on all property 
owned by the obligor in the county where it is filed. 

(a) A money award for past support will attach to all real property of the judgment 
debtor immediately upon entry of the judgment. 

(b) A support award will not attach until it becomes an unpaid installment pursuant to 
section 2 of this rule. 

(2) When an installment becomes due under the terms of a support award and is not 
paid a support arrearage lien attaches: 

(a) to all real property of the judgment debtor in the county where the judgment is filed; 
and 

(b) to any property acquired in that county by the judgment debtor after that date. 

(3) A support arrearage lien remains attached to real property until: 

(a) The judgment lien expires; or 

(b) The judgment lien is released for a single piece of real property or all real property of 
the judgment debtor in that county; or 

(c) Satisfaction is made for the unpaid installment(s). 

(4) A judgment lien created as a result of a child support or money award for unpaid 
child support installments expires: 

(a) 25 years after entry of the judgment that first establishes the support obligation if the 
judgment was entered on or after January 1, 1994. 

(b) 10 years after entry of the judgment that first establishes the support obligation if the 
judgment was entered before January 1, 1994, and was not renewed under the law in 
effect prior to January 1, 2004. 

(5) A judgment lien created as a result of a support award for spousal support expires: 

(a) 25 years after entry of the judgment that first establishes the support obligation if the 
judgment was entered on or after January 1, 2004, unless a certificate of extension is 
filed as provided in Oregon Laws 2003, chapter 576, section 20. However, in no 
circumstance may the judgment lien be extended beyond the judgment remedies as 
provided in OAR 137-055-6110. 

(b) 10 years after entry of the judgment that first establishes the support obligation if the 
judgment was entered before January 1, 2004, and was not renewed per the law in 
effect prior to January 1, 2004. 



(6) An obligee may authorize the State of Oregon to release a lien against real property 
of an obligor when the obligee has submitted a signed and notarized lien release form 
to the administrator. 

(7) If a release of lien is filed for all real property of the judgment debtor in a county, a 
judgment lien may be reinstated by recording a certified copy of the judgment document 
or lien record abstract for the judgment in that county. 

Stat. Auth.: Or Laws 2003, ch 576, § 18 
Stats. Implemented: Or Laws 2003, ch 576, § 18 


