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137-055-2160
Requests for Hearing

(1) A request for hearing must be in writing and signed by the party, the party's authorized
representative, or the administrator. The signature may be handwritten, typed or electronic.

(2) A request for hearing may be made on a form provided by the Child Support Program (CSP).

(3) A request for hearing must be received by the CSP office which issued the action within the
time provided by law or notice in order to be considered timely.

(4) A new or amended request for hearing is not required from the requesting party to obtain a
hearing if the administrator amends the order being appealed, unless the administrator notifies
the requesting party that an additional request is required.

(5) Notwithstanding OAR 137-003-0530, 137-003-0672(3), and section 4 of this rule,
if OAH dismisses a hearing because the requesting party failed to appear, the
CSP may issue an amended notice instead of issuing a final order by default. The
amended order will be referred to OAH only if a party submits a new request for a
hearing.

(56) When a party requests a hearing after the time specified by the administrator, the
administrator will handle the request pursuant to OAR 137-003-0528, except that the
administrator may accept the late request only if:

(a) The request is received before or within 60 days after entry of a final order by default;

(b) The circuit court has not approved the final order or tThere is no appeal of the final order
pending with the circuit court, and

(c) The cause for failure to timely request the hearing was beyond the reasonable control of the
party, unless other applicable statutes or Oregon Child Support Program administrative rules
provide a different time frame or standard.

(67) Notwithstanding the provisions of section (56) of this rule, a request for hearing is not
considered a late hearing request when:

(a) Parentage testing has been conducted pursuant to ORS 109.252 and 416.430 which
includes the man as the biological father of the child, and a request for hearing has been
received from a party 30 days from the date of service of the Notice of Intent to Enter
Order/Judgment establishing paternity and the notice of parentage testing results; or

(b) A party has denied paternity and failed to appear for parentage tests, an order establishing
paternity has been entered, and a request for hearing has been received from a party within 30
days from the date the order establishing paternity was mailed to the parties.

(78) For the purpose of computing any period of time under this rule, except as otherwise
provided, any response period begins to run on the following date:

(a) If service is by certified mail, on the date the party signs a receipt for the mailing;
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(b) If service is by regular mail:

(A) Three days after the mailing date if mailed to an address in Oregon;

(B) Seven days after the mailing date if mailed to an address outside Oregon; or

(c) The date evidence shows the party received the mailing.

(89) Except as provided in subsection (910)(b) the dates in section (78) are computed based on
calendar days, not business days.

(910)(a) In computing any period of time under this rule, do not count the date of mailing as the
first day; and

(b) If the last day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, do not count that day as a
calendar day.

(1011) The provisions of sections (78) through (910) do not apply to service on a party by
regular mail to complete substitute service. For substitute service, the service date is the date
the document is mailed.
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