New Requirement: Per the federal Claims Resolution Act of 2010, employers must report each newly hired employee's first day of work when reporting new hires. For more information, see OCSE Action Transmittal AT-11-04.
Oregon law requires employers to report all new hires and re-hires to the Division of Child Support within 20 days. This information is used to collect child support and applies to permanent, temporary & seasonal staff.
A "New Hire" is defined as any employee who is required to fill out a W-4 form. Any returning employee who has been absent for more than 60 days is also considered a "New Hire" for the purpose of the State of Oregon Employer New Hire Reporting Program.
To report a new hire, please complete and remit an Oregon New Hire Reporting Form or submit new hires online using the Oregon Employer Services Portal. The Oregon Employer Services Portal allows employers to report new hires individually or via file upload. The File Upload feature saves employers time by providing the option to report multiple new hire records by uploading new hires from Excel, CSV, or Text files. To start the registration process, click the New Users REGISTER button at https://employerportal.oregonchildsupport.gov/. To report electronically on CD or file upload, please contact the Employer Services Team at (866) 907-2857 or firstname.lastname@example.org. NOTE: Files Direct will no longer be available for reporting new hires to the Child Support Program effective June 17, 2015.
It is also important that an employer informs the Division of Child Support when an employee with a child support obligation no longer works for you.
Note: For your employee's privacy and security, please do not email the employee's full social security number. You may include the last four digits of the social security number when corresponding via email.