The Essentials of Child Support

Information for Employers




The Essentials of Child Support

Information for Employers

Table of Contents

[N Ao Ye 18T o3 Ao ) o AT TR

Fundamental Four Steps of Child Support

NEW Hire RePOIING ...ttt i e e e e e e e e e eeanes

Income withholding for SUPPOIt.....ccoi i e
Order to Withhold Income
National Medical SUPPOrt NOtICe.......coiiii i e :

Part A, Cover Letter

Part A, Notice to Withhold for Health Care Coverage
Employer Response

Instructions to Employer

Part B Cover Letter
Part B, Medical Support Notice To Plan Administrator

Plan Administrator Response
Instructions to Plan Administrator

Payment Methods. ... e

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) options & other payment methods



The Essentials of Child Support

Information for Employers

INntroduction

Contact Employer Services Toll Free at 1-866-907-2857




4
Introduction

The “Fundamental Four” Steps of Child Support for Employers

The child support system provides financial security for many of Oregon’s ch ildren. The Department
of Justice, Divis ion of Child S upport (DCS) is the agency primarily responsible for administering the

child support system in Oregon.

Employers are a vital component of this system. State and Federal laws give employers an important
role in ass isting with t he colle ction of child support. Wi thout those efforts many children wo uld not

receive child support. The dedication shown by employers is greatly appreciated

The following four steps will help you save time and money, and ensure that you stay in compliance

with your legal obligations.

1 Report New Hires — Start Today!
Oregon requires employers to report all new hires, & re-hires to DCS within 20 days.
This applies to permanent, temporary & seasonal staff

e This information is used to collect child support

e Download the online form at http://www.dcs.state.or.us/forms/csf010580.pdf

e Report Electronically on CD, Disc or file upload

For information, contact Employer Services

2 Withhold & Send Income

Based on state and federal laws, DCS collects child support through income
withholding. This is true even if the employee has never missed a payment
e Anincome withholding order is effective the same day it is received, and withholding
should begin at the next pay period
e Submit the payment within 7 business days
e Inform DCS when an employee with child support no longer works for you

3 Enroll Dependents in Medical Insurance
Employers who receive a National Medical Support Notice should enroll the designated
children in the employee’s insurance plan
e Enroll according to policy provisions, noting any waiting periods or limitations which
may apply
e When factoring the cost of enroliment, consider only the cost for the children
e |f the employee no longer works for you, complete & return Employer Response
e |If there is no insurance available, if the employee does not qualify for coverage, or if
the amount of coverage exceeds withholding limitations:
- Complete & return the Employer Response, and Notice to Employer

4 Send Payments Electronically
Electronic payments are safer, faster and easier than sending checks!

e Save time and money, and help Oregon go “green” through one less paper-pushing
process. Get started today! Visit:

e http://www.dcs.state.or.us/employers/payment center.htm
Contact Employer Services Toll Free at 1-866-907-2857
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The Essentials of Child Support 5
New Hire Reporting

Who should be reported as a new hire?

e State and Federal laws require employers to report all newly hired or rehired
employees, including permanent, seasonal, and temporary workers.

e An employee is any person who has filled out a W-4 and will be earning wages through
your place of business.

What is the time frame for reporting new hires?
e New hires need to be reported within 20 business days from the date they are hired.

e |f you are unsure if your employees have ever been reported, or if you are just starting
to report new hires, submit every employee who has been hired since the last quarterly
wage report was filed for your business.

Oregon New Hire Reporting Form

e The Oregon New Hire Reporting form is designed to make new hire reporting easy. It is
the best way to report all of the information employers are required to provide under
federal law.

e Download the online form at:
http://www.dcs.state.or.us/forms/csf010580.pdf

Creating a customized new hire report

e |f an employer wishes to create a customized new hire report, it must include all of the
federally required information that would be needed to complete Oregon New Hire
Report form.

e |t must include a business contact person and phone number,

e |t must state whether or not the business offers health care coverage to its employees
and their dependents, and specify a waiting period if applicable.

)

How do | submit my new hires Attention! Multi-state Employers &

Businesses reporting larger groups of

Mail completed reports to: new hires, you must either:

Department of Justice

Division of Child Support . e Send the new hire report on a CD
Employekf Services Central Unit or Diskette. OR

t ; !
4600 25™ Ave NE, Suite 180 e Submit via secure upload to Files
Salem, OR 97301 Direct
Fax completed reports to: Email Employer Services for more info:
Toll Free: 1-877-877-7415 emplnewhire.help@doj.state.or.us

Salem Area: 503-378-2863

Contact Employer Services Toll Free at 1-866-907-2857
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The Essentials of Child Support 14
Income Withholding for Support

Why Did DCS Send an Income Withholding Order for Child
Support?
¢ Income withholding orders are the primary method for collecting child support in
Oregon. An income withholding order requires an employer to deduct a specific
amount from a parent’s pay check.
e |tis possible to receive a withholding order from any US state or territory.
e State and Federal laws require an income withholding order to be issued in almost

every child support case. A withholding order can even be sent for an employee or
independent contractor that has never missed a child support payment.

When should the wage withholding take effect?
e The withholding is effective the day it is received, and you need to begin withholding
the next time payroll is processed.

e Once the withholding is processed be sure to submit the payment to the Department
of Justice within 7 business days.

How much should be withheld?

e The withholding order will tell you the amount to withhold based on the frequency of
your business’ payroll cycle. Support payments are due within 7 days of payroll.

e Oregon law generally prohibits withholding more than 50% of an employee’s net
wages. If only past due support is being collected, the amount you withhold should
never leave an employee with less than Federal Minimum Wage. Contact Employer
Services if you need help determining how much you should withhold.

e Lump sum payouts (i.e. bonuses, vacation payouts, severance pay, etc) that are not
monthly, periodic recurring income should be withheld at 25% after mandatory
deductions.

What if a payment cannot be withheld?

e If an employee takes a leave of absence, has reduced hours, is off due to an injury
or misses work for other similar reasons, withholding income may or may not be
appropriate. In these instances, contact Employer Services immediately

e Do not ever stop a withholding until you receive a written notification from DCS.

¢ If an employee has terminated, be sure notify DCS right away.

How can the payment be submitted?
e Start using Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) to submit your payment! To learn how,
See pg 37 of this booklet and visit our web site:
http://wwwdcsstateorus/employers/payment_centerhtm

Contact Employer Services Toll Free at 1-866-907-2857
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Mary H. Williams

John R. Kroger
DEPUTY ATTORNEY GENERAL

ATTORNEY GENERAL

Department of Justice
Division of Child Support

1495 Edgewater St NW
Salem, OR 97304
Telephone: (503) 378-2868
FAX: (877) 877-7415
TDD: (503) 986-6244

July 30, 2009

The employee noted on the attached Income Withholding for Support has an or. ¢ to pay child support.

Important Employer Information

Mandate to Report Newly Hired or Rehired Employees

All employers are required by ORS 25.790 to rfport to th- child sup¢ rt entity for their state any
and all newly hired or rehired employees within 20 day. from the date of hire.

Mandate for Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) of Child Support Payments

Oregon employers and employ< »with regi tered agents in Oregon must submit child support
payments by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)as required by OAR 137-055-5035.

® Criteria requiring EFT payments submission, is as follows:
» The employer has five or mo. nemployees \nd has received at least one income withholding order for
an employee; OR
» The employer has‘less than five< mploy:es and has received an income withholding order for more
than one employe ; AND/O
» The employer is 1 quired to make Federal Corporation estimated tax payments or Federal Payroll tax
paymentsdy.EFT

® Options for remitting child support payments electronically:

* Us' asecure empla er online payment system (CSPay), authorizing DOJ-Child Support to initiate
EFT. www.dcs.st_te.or.us/employers.

» ©_Use a p¢ roll software package or a payroll service provider that supports the transmission of child
S po tpayment by EFT.

» Con ctyourf nancial institution’s Banking Relationship Manager and/or Treasury Management
Specia st to determine if child support transactions can be originated on your behalf using CCD+ or
CTX formats that follow the Child Support Application Banking Convention Guidelines.

Visit the Department of Justice, Division of Child Support, Employer Services web site for additional
employer information at: www.dcs.state.or.us/employers

Employer Services Central Unit
Local (503) 378-2868
Toll Free: (866) 907-2857

Obligor CSP #:
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INCOME WITHHOLDING FOR SUPPORT

[ x] ORIGINAL INCOME WITHHOLDING ORDER/NOTICE FOR SUPPORT (IWO) [ ] AMENDED IWO
[ 1ONE-TIME ORDER/NOTICE - LUMP SUM PAYMENT
[ ] TERMINATION of IWO Date: 02-25-09

[ x ] Child Support Enforcement (CSE) Agency [ 1Court [ 1Attorney [ ]Private Individual/Entity  (Check One)

NOTE: If you receive this document from someone other than a State or Tribal Child Support Enforcement agency or a court, a copy
of the underlying order that contains a provision authorizing income withholding must be attached. Or if under State law an attorney
in that State, or if under Tribal law a Tribal legal representative, may issue an income withholding order, the attorney or Tribal legal
representative must include a copy of the State or Tribal law authorizing the attorney or Tribal legal representative to issue an income
withholding order.

State/Tribe/Territory Oregon Case Identifier 004DLNO879R41
City/Co./Dist./Tribe Salem Order Identifier
Private Individual/Entity N/A
[ Nimbus Manufacturing RE:  Smith, John M.
Employer/Income Withholder’s Name Employee/Obligor’s Name (Last, First,. 1)
1234 Practical Way 999-99-9999
Employer/Income Withholder’s Address Employee/Obligor’s Saocial Security Number (if. ewn
Salem, OR 97301 Doe, Jane A.

Custodial Party/Obligee’s N (Last, First Md

26-1234567

Employer/Income Withholder’s Federal EIN

Child’s Name (Last, First, MI) Ch Birth Date
Smith, Johnny B. 02-10-2002
Smith, Janelle A. 06-14-1994

ORDER INFORMATION: This docug ent is base \on¢ he support or withholding order from
You are required by law to deduct thes amounts fr. mthe employee/obligor’s income until further notice.

$120.00 Per Month cu ent child support

$24.00 Per Month pas due child support - Arrears greater than 12 weeks? [ x Jyes[ ]no
$ Per urrent cash medical support

$ Per past-due cash medical support

$ P current spousal support

$ er past-due spousal support

$ Per other (must specify)

for a total of $144.00 perMonth to be forwarded to the payee below.

AMOUNTS TO WITHH LD: ¥ u do not have to vary your pay cycle to be in compliance with the Order Information. If your pay
cycle does not match the ord~ d payment cycle, withhold one of the following amounts:

$ per weekly pay period $ per semimonthly pay period (twice a month)
$66.47 per biweekly pay period (every two weeks) $ per monthly pay period

$ ONE-TIME LUMP SUM PAYMENT Do not stop any existing IWO unless you receive a termination order.

REMITTANCE INFORMATION: If the employee/obligor’s principal place of employment is __ Oregon .
you must begin withholding no later than the first pay period that occurs 5 days after the date of__03-01-09 .
Send payment within 7 working days of the pay date. If you cannot withhold the full amount of support for any or all
orders for this employee/obligor, withhold up to 50% of disposable income for all orders. If the employee/obligor’s principal place
of employment is not Oregon , see the ADDITIONAL INFORMATION TO EMPLOYERS AND OTHER INCOME
WITHHOLDERS for limitations on withholding, applicable time requirements and any allowable employer’s fees.
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For EFT/EDI instructions, contact the EFT/EDI office at the website listed below. If paying by check, make check payable to:
Department of Justice _. Include this Remittance Identifier
with payment: 004DLN0879R41 . Send check to:P.O. Box 14506 Salem OR 97301

FIPS code (if necessary):

Signature (if required by State or Tribal law):

Print Name:

Title of Issuing Official:

[ ] If checked, you are required to provide a copy of this form to your employee/obligor. If the employee/obligor works in a State or for
a Tribe that is different from the State or Tribe that issued this order, a copy must be provided to the employee/obligor even if the box is
not checked.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION TO EMPLOYERS AND OTHER INCOM "WITHH¢ LDERS

State-specific information may be viewed on the OCSE Employer Services website ¢’ ed at:
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cse/newhire/employer/contacts/contacts htm

Priority: Withholding for support has priority over any other legal process under State:law (or Tribal law, if applicable) against the
same income. If a Federal tax levy is in effect, please notify the contact person listed below.

Combining Payments: You may combine withheld amounts from more th n one em oyee/0. ga’ income in a single payment to
each agency/party requesting withholding. You must, however, separat  y identify th ' portion of the single payment that is
attributable to each employee/obligor.

Reporting the Pay Date: You must report the pay date when send. g ‘e paym. » The pay date is the date on which the amount was
withheld from the employee/obligor's wages. You must comply with \he" w of the State (or Tribal law, if applicable) of the
employee/obligor’s principal place of employment withaaspect to the' ime p_iods within which you must implement the withholding
and forward the support payments.

Employee/Obligor with Multiple Support Withholdings: If »ere is m__ e than one Order/Notice against this employee/obligor and
you are unable to honor all support Orders/N@ ¢ ‘due to federa. State, or Tribal withholding limits, you must follow the State or
Tribal law/procedure of the employee/obligor's. rincipa. “lyce of employment. You must honor all Orders/Notices to the greatest
extent possible, giving priority to current suppor. before paym. vof any past-due support.

Lump Sum Payments: You may be r quired to rep rt and withhold from lump sum payments such as bonuses, commissions, or
severance pay. Contact the agency or'p rson listed b low to determine if you are required to withhold or if you have any questions
about lump sum payments.

Liability: If you hav' any doubts abou  he validity of the Order/Notice, contact the agency or person listed below. If you fail to
withhold income a¢ he Order/Notice dir s, you are liable for both the accumulated amount you should have withheld from the
employee/obligd s incomes nd any othe penalties set by State or Tribal law/procedure.

Anti-discrimination: You_ subject to a fine determined under State or Tribal law for discharging an employee/obligor from
employment, refusing to employ, or taking disciplinary action against an employee/obligor because of a child support withholding.

Withholding Limits: You may not withhold more than the lesser of: 1) the amounts allowed by the Federal Consumer Credit
Protection Act (CCPA) (15 U.S.C. 1673(b)); or 2) the amounts allowed by the State or Tribe of the employee/obligor's principal place
of employment. Disposable income is the net income left after making mandatory deductions such as: State, Federal, local taxes,
Social Security taxes, statutory pension contributions, and Medicare taxes. The Federal limit is 50% of the disposable income if the
obligor is supporting another family and 60% of the disposable income if the obligor is not supporting another family. However, that
50% limit is increased to 55% and that 60% limit is increased to 65% if the arrears are greater than 12 weeks. If permitted by the
State, you may deduct a fee for administrative costs. The support amount and the fee may not exceed the limit indicated in this
section.
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Employee/Obligor’s Name: John M. Smith Case ldentifier: 044DLN0879R41
Order Identifier: Employer’s Name: Nimbus Manufacturing

Arrears greater than 12 weeks? If the Order Information does not indicate whether the arrears are greater than 12 weeks, then the
employer should calculate the CCPA limit using the lower percentage.

For Tribal orders, you may not withhold more than the amounts allowed under the law of the issuing Tribe. For Tribal employers
who receive a State order, you may not withhold more than the lesser of the limit set by the law of the jurisdiction in which the
employer is located or the maximum amount permitted under section 303(d) of the CCPA (15 U.S.C. 1673 (b)).

Depending on applicable State law, you may need to take into consideration the amounts paid for health care premiums in
determining disposable income and applying appropriate withholding limits.

Additional Information: Oregon employers are entitled to deduct a monthly fee of $5.00 per withhol< ng order to defray the cost of
processing. The total amount withheld, including your fee, cannot exceed 50% of the employee/obligor’s ADWE.

NOTIFICATION OF TERMINATION OF EMPLOYMENT: You must promptly notify the Child« upport Enfercement
agency and/or the person listed below by returning this form to the correspondence address if:

[ 1 This person has never worked for this employer.
[ 1 This person no longer works for this employer.
Please provide the following information for the terminated employee:

Termination date: Last known ph »e numb

Last known home address:

Date final payment made to the State Disbursement Unit or Tribal CE gency:

Final payment amount: New employer’s name:

New employer’s address:

CONTACT INFORMATION

To employer: If the employer/income withholder has any questions, contact Employer Services Central Unit
by phone at 866-907-2857 , by fax at 1-877-877-7416 , by
email or website at: ead.staff@doj.state.or.us

Send termination notice and other correspondence to:
Emplover Services Central Unit, 4600 25" Ave NE, Suite 180, Salem OR 97301
Phone: 1-866-907-2857  Fax: (503) 986-6266

To employee/obligor: If the employee/obligor has questions, contact: Suzie Q. Fiction
by phone at 503-555-5555 , by fax at 503-551-5555 , by
email or website at:

IMPORTANT: The person completing this form is advised that the information may be shared with the employee/obligor.
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OREGON INFORMATION FOR WITHHOLDERS

THIS ORDER CONTINUES IN EFFECT until further notice. ORS 25.408.

1. Definitions

"Income" is any monetary obligation in excess of $4.99 after the fee described in ORS 25.414(6) has been deducted that is
in the possession of a third party owed to an obligor and includes but is not limited to: compensation paid or payable for
personal services whether denominated as wages, salary, commission, bonus or otherwise; periodic payments pursuant to a
pension or retirement program; cash dividends arising from stocks, bonds or mutual funds; interest payments; periodic
payments from a trust account; any program or contract to provide substitute wages during time#of unemployment or
disability; any payment pursuant to ORS chapter 657; or amounts payable to independent con® actors. ORS 25.010.

""Disposable income™ means that part of the income of an individual remaining after the eductio¢ from the income of any
amounts required to be withheld by law except laws enforcing spousal or child support and._hy< mounts wi‘hheld to pay
medical or dental insurance premiums. ORS 25.010.

“Withholder” means any person who disburses income and includes but is not'_mited to an employer, conservator, trustee
or insurer of the obligor. ORS 25.010.

"Employer™ means any entity or individual who engages an indivi® ual to perf rm work ~ services for which
compensation is given in periodic payments or otherwise. ORS 25 0.

"Electronic Funds Transfer” (EFT) is a movement of funds. y. ‘en-pap. »means, usually through a payment system
including, but not limited to, an automated clearinghouse. ORS 293 525(4)(

2. Inacase where the employee/obligor has auth. .ze JADDITIONAL withholding tax deductions beyond those
required by law, or has authorized other VOLUNTAR" deduc »ns such as advance draws, credit union payments, stock
purchase plans, savings bond deductions, wage assignmen. repayment of debt to employer, etc., such payments MAY NOT
BE DEDUCTED FROM GROSS INCOME wh' »eomputing "disposable income."

3. An Oregon child support withholding 0. ersas priority over any other legal process under Oregon law against the
same income. ORS 25.375. When| ou comply ith this order, you cannot be held liable to the employee/obligor or to any
other person claiming rights derived from the em loyee/obligor for wrongful withholding. ORS 25.424.

The withholdingf income pur uantto'the Income Withholding Order (IWQ) might reduce or eliminate subsequent
payments under a wr' of continuing g rnishment including State tax garnishments. If you are a garnishee, you may have
duties under ORS¢ h. 18 thascan incl de completing and filing a Notice of Receipt of the Order to Withhold Income. You
may want to con ct the ef ity that sen the garnishment for further instructions.

4.  Oregon employ rs and.Zmployers with registered agents in Oregon must submit child support payments by
Electronic Funds Transfyr< FT) as required by OAR 137-055-5035.

5. Consolidating Withholdings for More than One Obligor: You may combine amounts from employees’/obligors'
incomes in a single payment to DOJ as long as the payment is accompanied by a list which separately identifies which
portion of the payment is attributable to each obligor, and includes each employee/obligor’s name, case identifier(s), and the
date the payment was withheld as well as the amount to each separate case.

6. If you do not withhold support in any month for any reason, you must notify DOJ of the reason for not withholding on
the date you would normally send a payment. ORS 25.421. This includes when the employee/obligor is injured on the job
or is receiving short or long term disability income.

7. Please notify DOJ promptly when the obligor ceases to receive income from you and provide the obligor's last
known address and name and address of the obligor's new source of income. See ORS 25.421.
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8. Lump Sum Payments or Benefits: If the employee/obligor is due to receive a lump sum payment or benefit, you
may be required to withhold from that income. (ORS 25.414(4)) Lump sum is defined as any payment or benefit, including
but not limited to retroactive workers’ compensation benefits, lump sum retirement plan disbursements or withdrawals,
insurance payments or settlements, severance pay, bonus payments or any other similar payments or benefits that are not
periodic recurring income. The amount subject to withholding for payment of a support obligation may not exceed
one-fourth of the amount of lump sum payment or benefits. “Periodic recurring income” is income that is received at
least monthly on a regular basis or that is intended as a monthly or more frequent payment. OAR 137-055-4060. If you are
paying out a lump sum payment or benefit, contact either the CSP office listed on this form or the Employer Services
Central Unit.

9.  Start withholding not later than the first pay period occurring five (5) days after the date of the IWO. However, if on
the date you receive the IWO, you have already (a) calculated the payroll for the pay period and, (b) prepared the paycheck
or submitted a deposit for that payroll, you will start withholding no later than the second pay.« riod which occurs after the
date of the IWO. For further assistance, contact the Employer Services Central Unit by photeat 1-866-907-2857 or by fax
at: (503) 986-6266

10.  If you do not comply with the requirements of the IWO, or provide an explanation, we " ay begin |« al action against
you. The court may find you in contempt, may impose sanctions against you, and you may beh Id per_onally liable for the
amounts you failed to withhold. In addition, the court may impose fines again_you, including att. "~ ey fees, and/or may
order you to pay damages. (ORS 25.424). If you fail to comply, you may be asse_ed additional.civil penalties. (ORS
652.610(4) and 652.900)

11.  If you are an employer who is conducting business in a Stateé ther thant regon and the employee/obligor is working
in that State, you may view the other State’s withholding limits at:
http://www.acf.dhhs.gov/programs/cse/newhire/employer/con _ts/conta s.htm
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Medlcal Support Notices

Child support orders can require a parent to pay for medical care. This may mean
enrolling the child in health insurance if it is available through an employer.
e National Medical Support Notice (NMSN) forms help make sure that as many
children as possible are signed up for health insurance.
e Employers are required to review and complete the NMSN forms.
e The NMSN is made up of 2 separate sections — Part A and Part B.
Part A Includes the following:
» Part A Cover Letter
» Part A, Notice to Withhold for Health Care Coverage
» Employer Response
» Instructions to Employer

Part B Includes the following:
» Part B Cover Letter
» Part B, Medical Support Notice To Plan Administrator
» Plan Administrator Response
» Instructions to Plan Administrator

If the employer handles enrollments...

e Follow part A “Instructions to Employer”, AND Part B, “Instructions to Plan
Administrator”

e Employers are required to enroll the children in medical coverage as long as it is
available and the premium costs are within the limitations stated in the NMSN.

e Employers should complete the “Plan Administrator Response” and the “Notice to the
Plan Administrator” and return both forms to Employer Services within 40 business
days after the date of the Notice.

If insurance enrollment is handled by a third party or union...

e Forward the entire Part B to the Plan Administrator within 20 days. The party
responsible for enrollment must complete and return all of the forms in Part B.

If you CANNOT enroll the employee/dependents because...

e Insurance is not available through your business, or

e The employee does not quality for benefits, or

e The employee is no longer employed by your business, or

e The cost to enroll in medical coverage exceeds federal withholding limitations, then
You MUST:

e Complete the appropriate section of the “Employer Response” and return it to
Employer Services within 20 days.

Contact Employer Services Toll Free at 1-866-907-2857




Mary H. Williams
DEPUTY ATTORNEY GENERAL

John R. Kroger
ATTORNEY GENERAL

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Division of Child Support
4600 25" Ave NE, Suite 180
Salem, OR 97301
Telephone: (866) 907-2857
FAX: (503) 986-6011
TDD: (503) 986-6244

July 30, 2009

TO:

NOTICE TO EMPLOYER

Enclosed is a National Medical Support Notice pursuant tefORS 25.321 to O 'S¢ 5.343.
Instructions are included. PLEASE NOTE THIS ADDITIONAL' NFORMATION:

° The custodial parent’s and child(ren)’s addressedand SSNs are »onfidential under ORS
25.260. You may release them to the plan adm nistrator but ton one else, and you
specifically may NOT release them to the empl yee if the employee is not the custodial
parent.

° If the employee is subject to a waiting period, ple_ e advi. »us of the eligibility date:

o When the child(ren) is enrolled in"_ al hicare coverage, please provide the following information:

Carrier Name:
Carrier Address:

Carrier phone #:
Policy/ID #: Group #:
Effective date:

o If you are notan Or g ployer, you may have additional responsibilities under the laws of
your st te.

Y U are req ired to ¢ mplete the Employer or Plan Administrator response and this form for each
case an_return’ tto the office listed on this form. Also provide the following information:

Monthly cost£o enroll child(ren) only: $
Emplovee’s gross pay: $ per
Employee works [ ] full time [ ]parttime [ ]seasonal [ ]

If you have any questions, contact the Employer Services Central Unit at (866) 907-2857 or fax at
(503) 986-6011. You can also access our website at www.dcs.state.or.us/employers/.
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John R. Kroger Mary H. Williams

ATTORNEY GENERAL DEPUTY ATTORNEY GENERAL
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Division of Child Support
4600 25" Ave NE, Suite 180
Salem, OR 97301
Telephone: (866) 907-2857
FAX: (503) 986-6011
TDD: (503) 986-6244
July 30, 2009
TO:
CSP #:
Employee:

Employee’s SSN:
Child(ren)’s Name(s):

NMSN INFORMATION FOR EMPLOYERS# ORDERS TAKEN BEFORE 10/01/07

Pursuant to the terms of the order to pro. de healt  are coveraae. the emplovee’s out-of-
pocket health care premium cost to enroll the child(reén) cannot exceed the court ordered amount,
$ . If the cost is less than this amount, follow.the »roced  'es set out in the attached
National Medical Support Notice.

If the employee’s out-of-pocket por._en of thy remium is greater than $
per month to enroll the child(re")

1. Do not enroll thechild(re ).
2. Note the following informa on:
Monthly costtoe “llwhild(ren) only $

Empl yee’s gross ay: $ per
Employee works [ ] full time [ ]parttime [ ]seasonal [ ]

3. Markdox #4 on the Employer Response Form and return it with this form to the
off * listed on' his form.

If you h. * “any questions, contact the office listed on this form. Your cooperation and
assistance are appreciated.
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John R. Kroger Mary H. Williams

ATTORNEY GENERAL DEPUTY ATTORNEY GENERAL
Department of Justice
Division of Child Support
4600 25" Ave NE, Suite 180
Salem, OR 97301
Telephone: (503) 378-4500
FAX: (503) 391-6562
TDD: (503) 986-6244
July 30, 2009
TO:
CSP #:
Employee:

Employee’s SSN:
Child(ren)’s Name(s):

NOTICE - ORDERS ENTERED 10/01/07 OR AFTER

Pursuant to OAR 137-050-0410 and the te ms._f your. mployee’s support order, the
employee’s share of the cost to enroll théiehild(ren) in health care coverage premium must be
reasonable in cost. To determine if the'c stisheason ble, multiply the monthly cost to enroll the
child(ren) by %. That amount mus sbe equal o or less than $

If the employee’s cost is \qual™ »er lesst an this amount, follow the procedures set out
in the attached National Medical’ upp<rt No" ‘e.

If the employee’s cost is gre_er than this amount, do the following:
1. Do net enroll the | hild(ren)
2. Note the following nformation:

M hly cost t¢ enroll child(ren) only: $

Empl yee’sgross pay: $ per
Employ. works [ ]full time [ ]parttime [ ]seasonal [ ]

3. Mark box #4 on the Employer Response Form and return it with this form to the
office listed on this form

If you have any questions, contact the office listed on this form. Your cooperation and
assistance are appreciated.
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NATIONAL MEDICAL SUPPORT NOTICE
PART A
NOTICE TO WITHHOLD FOR HEALTH CARE COVERAGE
This Notice is issued under section 466(a)(19) of the Social Security Act, section 609(a)(5)(C) of the Employee
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), and for State and local government and church plans, sections
401(e) and (f) of the Child Support Performance and Incentive Act of 1998.

Issuing Agency: Salem Division of Child Support Court or Administrative Authority: Marion County

Issuing Agency Address: 4600 25™ Ave NE # 180 Salem, Date of Support Order: 06-30-2006
OR 97301

Support Order Number:

Date of Notice: 02-25-09

Case Number: 044DLN0879R41

Telephone Number: 503-378-2863

FAX Number: 1-877-877-7415

26-1234567 RE*« Smith, John M.
Employer/Withholder’s Federal EIN Number Employ e’s Name (Last, First, MI)
Nimbus Manufacturing 999-99-9999

Employer/Withholder’s Name Em loyee’s Social Security Number
1234 Practical Way 5512'New Town Dr, Salem OR 97301
Employer/Withholder’s Address mployee’s Mailing Address

Doe, Jane A.

Custodial Parent’s Name (Last, First, MI)
2222 Somewhere Way, Salem OR 97301

Custodial Parent’s Mailing Address

Child(ren)’s Mailing Address (if diffef nt from Cu tod al Parent’s) Substituted Official/Agency Name and Address

Name, Mailing Ad¢ ess, and Tlephone Number of a Representative
of the Child(ren)

Child(ren)’s Name(s) DO SSN Child(ren)’s Name(s) DOB SSN
Johhny B. Smith 02<10-2002 999-99-9991
Janelle A. Smith 06-14-94 549-99-9992

The order requires the child(ren) to be enrolled in [ ] any health coverages available; or [ ] only the following
coverage(s): __ X Medical, Dental; ___ Vision; Prescription drug; Mental health; Other

(specify):

THE PAPERWORK REDUCTION ACT OF 1995 (P.L. 104-13) Public reporting burden for this collection of information is estimated to average 10 minutes per response,
including the time reviewing instructions, gathering and maintaining the data needed, and reviewing the collection of information. An agency may not conduct or sponsor, and a
person is not required to respond to, a collection of information unless it displays a currently valid OMB control number. OMB control number: 0970-0222
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EMPLOYER RESPONSE

If either 1, 2, or 3 below applies, check the appropriate box and return this Part A to the Issuing
Agency within 20 business days after the date of the Notice, or sooner if reasonable. NO
OTHER ACTION IS NECESSARY. If neither 1, 2, nor 3 applies, forward Part B to the
appropriate plan administrator(s) within 20 business days after the date of the Notice, or sooner
if reasonable. Check number 4 and return this Part A to the Issuing Agency if the Plan
Administrator informs you that the child(ren) is/are enrolled in an option under the plan for
which you have determined that the employee contribution exceeds the amounthat may be
withheld from the employee’s income due to State or Federal withholding limitations and/or
prioritization.

[ 1] 1. Employer does not maintain or contribute to plans providing depe  ent or family
health care coverage.

[ 1 2. Theemployee isamong a class of employees (for.example, part-time,or non-union)
that are not eligible for family health coverage under any group health »lan maintained by the
employer or to which the employer contributes.

[ 1 3. Health care coverage is not available® ‘cause ployee is no longer employed by the
employer:

Date of termination:

Last known address:

Last known telep one nu ver:

New emp oyer (if kn wn):

Newemp wraddress:

New emplayer telephone number:

[ 1] Sta’ or Federal'withholding limitations and/or prioritization prevent the withholding
from the employee’sd’ come of the amount required to obtain coverage under the terms of the
plan.

Employer Representative:

Name: Telephone Number:

Title: Date:

EIN (if not provided by Issuing Agency on Notice to Withhold for Health Care Coverage):

Page 2 of 2 - NATIONAL MEDICAL SUPPORT NOTICE - Part A (EMPLOYER RESPONSE)
CSF 11 0235 (Rev. 09/14/07)



INSTRUCTIONS TO EMPLOYER

This document serves as notice that the employee identified on this National Medical Support Notice is obligated by a
court or administrative child support order to provide health care coverage for the child(ren) identified on this Notice.
This National Medical Support Notice replaces any Medical Support Notice that the Issuing Agency has previously served
on you with respect to the employee and the children listed on this Notice. If the employee already has enrolled the
child(ren) in health care coverage, the employer should contact the issuing agency to provide coverage information.

The document consists of Part A - Notice to Withhold for Health Care Coverage for the employer to withhold any
employee contributions required by the group health plan(s) in which the child(ren) is/are enrolled; and Part B - Medical
Support Notice to the Plan Administrator, which must be forwarded to the administrator of each group health plan
identified by the employer to enroll the eligible child(ren), or completed by the employer, if the employer serves as the
health plan administrator.

EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES

1. If the individual named above is not your employee, or if family health care cove ge i< not available, please
complete item 1, 2, or 3 of the Employer Response as appropriate, and return it to th- ssuing Ag' ncy. NO
FURTHER ACTION IS NECESSARY.

2. If familv health care coverage is available for which the child(ren) identified above may be eligible, you are
required to:

a. Transfer. not later than 20 business davs after thedate of this Notice. a‘copy of Part B - Medical
Subport Notice to the Plan Administrator to the administrator of each appropriate group health plan for
which the child(ren) may be eligible, and

b. Upon notification from the plan administrator(s) that the child(ren) is/are enrolled, either

1) withhold from the emp ’s incom \any mployee contributions required under each group
health plan, in accordance with the'a plica 'l law of the'employee’s principal place of employment and
transfer employee contributions to the™ »propri lan(s), or

2) complete item . of " mEmployer Response to notify the Issuing Agency that enrollment
cannot be completed becau \ of prio ization or limitations on withholding.

C. If the plan adminis rator notif ~ "you that the employee is subject to a waiting period that expires more
than 90 days from| he date of i ‘receipt of Part B of this Notice, or whose duration is determined by a
measure o hen he passage ofitime (for example, the completion of a certain number of hours
worked), notify the ssuing g ncy of the enroliment timeframe and notify the plan administrator when
the<mployee is elig le to enroll in the plan and that this Notice requires the enrollment of the child(ren)
n° med in the Notice n the plan.

LIMITATIONS ONWITHHOEDING

The total amount withheld fot both cash and medical support cannot exceed 50% of the employee’s aggregate disposable
weekly earnings. The em oyer may not withhold more under this National Medical Support Notice than the lesser of:

1. The amounts allowed by the Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C., section 1673(b));
2. The amounts allowed by the State of the employee’s principal place of employment; or
3. The amounts allowed for health insurance premiums by the child support order, as indicated here:

refer to cover letter

The Federal limit applies to the aggregate disposable weekly earnings (ADWE). ADWE is the net income left after
making mandatory deductions such as State, Federal, local taxes; Social Security taxes; and Medicare taxes. As required
under section 2.b.2 of the Employer Responsibilities on prior page, complete item 4 of the Employer Response to notify
the Issuing Agency that enrollment cannot be completed because of prioritization or limitations on withholding.
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PRIORITY OF WITHHOLDING

If withholding is required for employee contributions to one or more plans under this notice and for a support obligation
under a separate notice and available funds are insufficient for withholding for both cash and medical support
contributions, the employer must withhold amounts for purposes of cash support and medical support contributions in
accordance with the law, if any, of the State of the emplovee’s principal place of emplovment reauirina prioritization
between cash and medical support, as described here: In Oregon, a medical support notice has priority over any
previously filed attachment, execution, garnishment or assignment of income other than a withholding order issued for
monetary (cash) support, unless otherwise requested by the obligee. As required under section 2.b.2 of the Employer
Responsibilities on prior page, complete item 4 of the Employer Response to notify the Issuing Agency that enroliment
cannot be completed because of prioritization or limitations on withholdings.

DURATION OF WITHHOLDING

The child(ren) shall be treated as dependents under the terms of the plan. Coverage of a ch' Id as a dependent will end
when similarly situated dependents are no longer eligible for coverage under the terms < the plan<However the
continuation coveraae provisions of ERISA mav entitle the child to continuation coveraa unde< he plan. The emplover
must continue to withhold employee contributions and may not disenroll (or eliminate coverage for) the ¢hild(ren) unless:

1. The employer is provided satisfactory written evidence that:
a. The court or administrative child support order referre. to above is no longer in effect; or
b. The child(ren) is or will be enrolled in comparablgcover: e which wil“take effect no later than

the effective date of disenrollment from the pl n; or
2 The employer eliminates family health coverage® rall of its mployees:
POSSIBLE SANCTIONS

An employer may be subject to sanctions or penalties imposed. \nde ‘State I » and/or ERISA for discharging an
employee from employment, refusing to employ, o¢ wking disciplinary »ction against any employee because of medical
child support withholding, or for failing to withhold nca e, or tr nsmit-uch withheld amounts to the applicable plan(s)
as the Notice directs.

NOTICE OF TERMINATION OF EM. LOYMENT

In anv case in which the above emplovee’s employment terminates, the employer must promptly notify the Issuing
Agency listed above of such termination. Thi r quirement may be satisfied by sending to the Issuing Agency a copy of
any notice the employer is required o provide. nder the continuation coverage provisions of ERISA or the Health
Insurance Portability and Accounta ility Act.

EMPLOYEE LIABILITY FOR CONTRIBUTION TO PLAN

The employee isd able for any emplo ee contributions that are required under the plan(s) for enrollment of the child(ren)
and is subject< appropri® e enforcement. The employee may contest the withholding under this Notice based on a
mistake of fact (S »h a’ the identity, of the obligor). Should an employee contest the withholding under this Notice, the
employer must proc. d to comp’ ~with the employer responsibilities in this Notice until notified by the Issuing Agency to
discontinue withholdin », To¢ ontest the withholding under this Notice, the employee should contact the Issuing Agency
at the address and teleph. * ‘number listed on the Notice. With respect to plans subject to ERISA, it is the view of the
Department of Labor that Federal Courts have jurisdiction if the employee challenges a determination that the Notice
constitutes a Qualified Medical Child Support Order.

CONTACT FOR QUESTIONS

If you have any questions regarding this Notice, you may contact the Issuing Agency at the address and telephone number
listed above.
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Mary H. Williams

John R. Kroger
DEPUTY ATTORNEY GENERAL

ATTORNEY GENERAL

Department of Justice

Division of Child Support
4600 25" Ave NE, Suite 180
Salem, OR 97301
Telephone: (866) 907-2857
FAX: (503) 986-6011
TDD: (503) 986-6244

July 30, 2009

TO:

NOTICE TO PLAN ADMINISTRATOR

Enclosed is a National Medical Support Notice pursuant to ORS 25.321 to ORS 63 3.
Instructions are included. PLEASE NOTE THIS ADDITIONAL IN. ORMATION:

° The custodial parent’s and child(ren)’s addresses and SSNs are confidential under ORS
25.260. You may release them to the insurer. but to no one else. and vou specifically may
NOT release them to the employee if the employee,is not the custodial parent.

You may rely on the notice as a request from' pablic of ial pursuant to 45 CFR 164.512(f). The
information sought is material and relevant to a legitimat_law enf rcement inquiry, the request is specific
and limited in scope, and de-identified information can ot r_sonably be used.

ALSO PLEASE NOTE: If a health: .nef »plan r_guiresthat the employee be enrolled in order
for the child(ren) to be added, and the employ- his not e ntly enrolled, you must enroll both the
employee and the child(ren).

Pursuant to ORS 25.325(2)," \nd aco nef the description of coverage and effective dates to the
custodial parent. Complet this form and<eturn‘itwith the Plan Administrator Response to the issuing
agency.

° Ifthere is a cost to enroll the child(ren) and the emplovee also has an Income
Withholding Order/Notice for Support. please verify that the combined withholding
amount does not exceed federal and state withholding limits. In Oregon, current cash
support has| riority over health benefit premiums. If the cost exceeds the withholding
lim'ts, check ox #4 on the Employer Response sheet and return it to the issuing agency.

[ ‘When the child(ren) is enrolled, please provide the following information:

Cartier Name:
Carrier Address:

Carrier phone #:
Policv/ID #: Group #:
Effective date:

You are required to complete the Employer or Plan Administrator response for each case and
return it to the issuing agency. If appropriate, return this form with the response form.

If you have any questions, contact the Employer Services Central Unit at (866) 907-2857 or fax at
(503) 986-6011. You can also access our website at www.dcs.state.or.us/employers/.
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NATIONAL MEDICAL SUPPORT NOTICE ~ OMB NO. 1210-0113
PART B
MEDICAL SUPPORT NOTICE TO PLAN ADMINISTRATOR

This Notice is issued under section 466(a)(19) of the Social Security Act, section 609(a)(5)(C) of the Employee
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, and for State and local government and church plans, sections 401(e) and (f) of
the Child Support Performance and Incentive Act of 1998. Receipt of this Notice from the Issuing Agency constitutes
receipt of a Medical Child Support Order under applicable law. The rights of the parties and the duties of the plan
administrator under this Notice are in addition to the existing rights and duties established under such law.

Issuing Agency: Salem Division of Child Support Court or Administrative Authority: Marion County

Issuing Agency Address: 4600 25® Ave NE # 180 Salem, Date of Support Order: 06-30-2006

OR 97301 Support Order Number:

Date of Notice: 02-25-09

Case Number: 044DLN0879R41

Telephone Number: 503-378-2868

FAX Number: 1-877-877-7415

26-1234567 RE* Smith, John M.
Employer/Withholder’s Federal EIN Number Emp._ yee’s Name (Last, First, MI)
Nimbus Manufacturing 999-99-9999

Employer/Withholder’s Name Employee’s Social Security Number
1234 Practical Way, Salem, OR 97301 5512 New Town Dr, Salem OR 97301
Employer/Withholder’s Address Employee’s Mailing Address

Doe, Jane A.

Custodial Parent’s Name (Last, First, MI)
2222 Somewhere Way, Salem OR 97301

Custodial Parent’s Mailing Address

Child(ren)’s Mailing Addres. (" wff .nt from Cus_ dial Substituted Official/Agency Name and Address
Parent’s)

Name(s), Mailing Addr._ », an Telephone Number of a
Representative of the Chil. en)

Child(ren)’s Name(s) DOB SSN Child(ren)’s Name(s) DOB SSN
Johhny B. Smith 02-10-2002 999-99-9991
Janelle A. Smith 06-14-94 549-99-9992

The order requires the child(ren) to be enrolled in [ ] any health coverages available; or [ ] only the following
coverage(s): __X medical; dental; vision; prescription drug; mental health; other

(specify):
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PLAN ADMINISTRATOR RESPONSE

(To be completed and returned to the Issuing Agency within 40 business days after the date of the Notice, or sooner if reasonable)

This Notice was received by the plan administrator on

[ 1 1. This Notice was determined to be a "qualified medical child support order,” on
Complete Response 2 or 3, and 4, if applicable.

2. The participant (employee) and alternate recipient(s) (child(ren)) are to be enrolled in the following
family coverage.
[ ]a. The child(ren) is/are currently enrolled in the plan as a dependent of the participant.
[ ]b. Thereis only one type of coverage provided under the plan. The child( en) is/are included as
dependents of the participant under the plan.
[ ]c. The participant is enrolled in an option that is providing depende¢ coverag and the child(ren)
will be enrolled in the same option.
[ ]d. The participant is enrolled in an option that permits dependent coverag that has not been
elected; dependent coverage will be provided.

Coverage is effectiveasof _ [/ / (includes waiting period of'l “'s.than 90 days fr' m date of
receipt of this Notice). The child(ren) has/have been enrolled n the fo lowing epti n:

Any necessary withholding should commence if the employer »termines that it is permitted under State and
Federal withholding and/or prioritization limitations.

[ 1 3. Thereis more than one option available under the planiand the participant is not enrolled. The
Issuing Agency must select from the available™ pti-ns. Eac \ child is to be included as a dependent under one
of the available options that provide family cover »e. 1 he ssuing Agency does not reply within 20 business
days of the date this Response is returnad. the child(r n), andthe participant if necessary, will be enrolled in the
plan’s default option, if any:

[ 1 4. The participant is subject to a waiting period that expires | | (more than 90 days from the
date of receipt of this Notice), 0 has not completed a waiting period which is determined by some measure
other than the passage ofitime_s ch as the ¢_mpletion of a certain number of hours worked (describe here:

At the completions the waiting| eriod, the plan administrator will process the enrollment.
[ ] This Notice does not constitute a "qualified medical child support order" because:
] T »n meofthe| ]child(ren) or [ ] participant is unavailable.
1  The hailing<ddress of the [ ] child(ren) (or a substituted official) or [ ] participant is
unavail bl
[ 1 Thefollowing child(ren) is/are at or above the age at which dependents are no longer eligible for
coverage under the plan

5.
[
[

(insert name(s) of child(ren)).

Plan Administrator or Representative:

Name: Telephone Number:
Title: Date:
Address:
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INSTRUCTIONS TO PLAN ADMINISTRATOR

This Notice has been forwarded from the employer identified above to you as the plan administrator of a group health
plan maintained by the employer (or a group health plan to which the employer contributes) and in which the
noncustodial parent/participant identified above is enrolled or is eligible for enroliment.

This Notice serves to inform you that the noncustodial parent/participant is obligated by an order issued by the court or
agency identified above to provide health care coverage for the child(ren) under the group health plan(s) as described on
Part B.

(A) If the participant and child(ren) and their mailing addresses (or that of a Substituted Official or Agency) are
identified above, and if coverage for the child(ren) is or will become available, this Notice constitutes a “qualified
medical child support order” (QMCSO) under ERISA or CSPIA, as applicable. (If any maili<gaddress is not present, but
it is reasonably accessible, this Notice will not fail to be a QMCSO on that basis.) You m¢ t, within,40 business days of
the date of this Notice, or sooner if reasonable:

(1) Complete Part B - Plan Administrator Response - and send it to the Issuing Agen_ y:
(@) if you checked Response 2:

(i) notify the noncustodial parent/participant named ab ve, e ch namd child and the custodial parent
that coverage of the child(ren) is or will become available( otificatio of the ¢ »t dial parent will be deemed
notification of the child(ren) if they reside at the same add ss);

(i) furnish the custodial parent a description of he cov. \ge available and the effective date of the
coverage, including, if not already provided, a summa y p. 'n descr. tion and any forms, documents, or
information necessary to effectuate such coverage, as w ll as_nformation necessary to submit claims for
benefits;

(b) if you checked Response 3:

(i) if you have not already' one s0, "mvide tathe Issuing Agency copies of applicable summary plan
descriptions or other documents that descri € ava able coverage including the additional participant contribution
necessary to obtain covera e for the ¢ i d(ren) under each option and whether there is a limited service area for
any option;

(i) if the plan hasa ef tion, you are to enroll the child(ren) in the default option if you have not
received an ection from th Issuing Agency within 20 business days of the date you returned the Response. If
the plan d* es not have a defa It option, you are to enroll the child(ren) in the option selected by the Issuing
Agenc

(c) ifthe pa_ cipant is. 8" ject to a waiting period that expires more than 90 days from the date of receipt of this
Notice, or has. »t co’ pleted a waiting period whose duration is determined by a measure other than the passage
of time (for exam_ e, the completion of a certain number of hours worked), complete Response 4 on the Plan
Administrator Response and return to the employer and the Issuing Agency, and notify the participant and the
custodial parent; and upon satisfaction of the period or requirement, complete enrollment under Response 2 or 3,
and

(d) upon completion of the enrollment, transfer the applicable information on Part B - Plan Administrator
Response to the employer for a determination that the necessary employee contributions are available. Inform
the employer that the enrollment is pursuant to a National Medical Support Notice.

(B) If within 40 business days of the date of this Notice, or sooner if reasonable, you determine that this Notice does not
constitute a QMCSO, you must complete Response 5 of Part B - Plan Administrator Response and send it to the Issuing
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Agency, and inform the noncustodial parent/participant, custodial parent, and child(ren) of the specific reasons for your
determination.

(C) Any required notification of the custodial parent, child(ren) and/or participant that is required may be satisfied by
sending the party a copy of the Plan Administrator Response, if appropriate.

UNLAWFUL REFUSAL TO ENROLL

Enrollment of a child may not be denied on the ground that: (1) the child was born out of wedlock; (2) the child is not
claimed as a dependent on the participant's Federal income tax return; (3) the child does not reside with the participant or
in the plan's service area; or (4) because the child is receiving benefits or is eligible to receive benefits under the State
Medicaid plan. If the plan requires that the participant be enrolled in order for the child(ren) to be enrolled, and the
participant is not currently enrolled, you must enroll both the participant and the child(ren). Al enroliments are to be
made without regard to open season restrictions.

PAYMENT OF CLAIMS

A child covered by a QMCSO, or the child’s custodial parent, legal guardian, or the provider: fiservice® to the child, or a
State agency to the extent assigned the child’s rights, may file claims and theslan shall make payme’ t for covered
benefits or reimbursement directly to such party.

PERIOD OF COVERAGE

The alternate recipient(s) shall be treated as dependents under the't_ 'ms of the plan. Coverage of an alternate recipient as
a dependent will end when similarly situated dependents are< » longe li ible for coverage under the terms of the plan.
However, the continuation coverage provisions of ERISA or. t_r appli. ble law may entitle the alternate recipient to
continue coverage under the plan. Once a child is enrolled in t e'p »n as di. cted above, the alternate recipient may not
be disenrolled unless:

(1) The plan administrator is provided satisf._tory- Jritten evidence that either:
(a) the court or administrative child sup ert orde” ferred to above is no longer in effect, or
(b) the alternate recipient will be enra "ed in comparable coverage which will take effect no later
than the effective date of d \enrol. wnt from he plan;

(2) The employer eliminat s family h \d'h coverage for all of its employees; or
(3) Any available eontinua, on coverage s not elected, or the period of such coverage expires.

CONTACT FOR QUESTIONS

If you have any« uestions rgarding | is Notice, you may contact the Issuing Agency at the address and telephone
number listed'a ve.

Paperwork Reducti »Act N tice

The Issuing Agency asks for the information on this form to carry out the law as specified in the Employee Retirement
Income Security Act or the Child Support Performance and Incentive Act, as applicable. You are required to give the
Issuing Agency the information. You are not required to respond to this collection of information unless it displays a
currently valid OMB control number. The Issuing Agency needs the information to determine whether health care
coverage is provided in accordance with the underlying child support order. The Average time needed to complete and
file the form is estimated below. These times will vary depending on the individual circumstances.

Learning about the law or the form Preparing the form
First Notice 1 hr. 1 hr., 45 min.
Subsequent Notices - 35min.
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The Essentials of Child Support

Information for Employers

Payment
Methods

Contact Employer Services Toll Free at 1-866-907-2857

29




30

Child Support Payment System
(CSPay)

5 Easy
| Steps!

CHRELROW O FAREAT OF JLSTRCE

55 )Y

CGHILD SUPPORT PAYMENT SYSTENMN

S ——

Easy, Free, & Convenient!
Electronic Funds Transfer

1. Get Started — Register Today!
Go to http://www.dcs.state.or.us/employers

¥

Click on the CSPay Logo and register as a New User
On the registration page, create and enter your:
=User ID
= Password
= Contact Information, and
= Bank Account Information

Log in to your new account. Print, sign and fax the Authorization form to DCS.
DCS will send an email confirming your registration.

2. Activating your CSPay account
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DCS will email an activation code.

You must log in and activate your account before you can begin making
payments.

You only need the activation code the FIRST time you log in.

3. Verify Bank Account (the pre-note phase)
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Before you can begin using your CSPay account, DCS must verify the banking
information by sending a “zero dollar” transaction to the bank (the pre-note).
The verifying process will take approximately 7-10 days.

While your account is being verified, please continue to send payments
by check to avoid accumulation of past due support.

Once banking information is verified, DCS will send an email telling you your
CSPay account has been set to “active”.

You are now able to begin using your CSPay account to make electronic child
support payments.

Contact Employer Services Toll Free at 1-866-907-2857
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Add Employees

You can create a list of the employees for whom you will be making payments
for by selecting “Add Employee” on the main menu.
You will need the person’s first and last name, social security number & Oregon
child support case number.

CSPay saves this list so you only have to enter each employee once.
If an employee has more than one child support case, that employee will be
entered once for each case number.

The list is organized alphabetically by name and then case number, so be sure
to double check the case number before submitting the payment.

Make a Paymentl!

From your main menu, select ‘Make a Payment'.

Using the list you created in step 4, select the employee for whom you are
making a payment.

Select the payroll date and payment date. DCS will process the payment within
two business days of the payment date you selected.

Payments on CSPay can be cancelled up to 3:00pm on the day selected as the
‘Payment Date’.

***EFT PAYMENTS ARE NOT DONE AUTOMATICALLY. In order for DCS to
receive a payment, it must be initiated by your business***

Get Started Today!

CSPay saves time & money and is another way to help your business lose

the paper trail and go “green’!

Need help? Email eft.help@doj.state.or.us or call us toll free at the

number on the bottom of this page.

Contact Employer Services Toll Free at 1-866-907-2857
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More Payment Methods

Electronic Funds Transfer
Automated Clearinghouse (ACH) Credit

e ACH Credit is a third party payment method using your financial institution to initiate a child
support payment to the Department of Justice.

e ACH Credit payments may be available through your payroll service provider or financial
institution. Certain specialized payroll software may also offer ACH Credit transfers.

e Visit the Employer Payment Center for more details:
http://www.dcs.state.or.us/employers/payment center.htm

Is EFT required for sending child support payments?

With very few exceptions, Oregon employers are required to submit child support
payments using Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT), in the following situations:

e An employer has at least 5 employees and 1 wage withholding for child support
e An employer has fewer than 5 employees and 2 or more wage withholdings

e An employer Is required by Treasury regulations to make federal corporation estimated tax
payments or federal payroll tax payments by means of EFT

For more information on the requirements for using EFT, visit the Employer
Payment center at:

http://www.dcs.state.or.us/employers/payment center.htm

What if a payroll or accounting system won’t support
EFT?

If an employer can demonstrate that its payroll or accounting systems won't work
with EFT, an exception may be granted on a case by case basis. If your business is
granted an exception from EFT, payments should be sent by check.

e Make check payable to: Oregon Department of Justice

e Include at least two identifiers: Employee’s full name, social security number
and/or the Oregon child support case number (CSP#)

e Send payments to:

Oregon Department of Justice
PO Box 14506
Salem, OR 97309-0420

Contact Employer Services Toll Free at 1-866-907-2857






